The EYFS Curriculum

The Curriculum

The Foundation Stage curriculum is split into 7 different areas of learning. These 7 areas are split into 2 sections, these are The Prime and The Specific areas of development.


The Prime Areas are:

•Communication and language Development

•Physical development

•Personal, social and emotional development


These are paramount to every child and what we will predominantly focusing most of our learning within our nursery. The Prime areas are imbedded in everything we do throughout our early years. Without the prime areas the other 4 areas of learning are not achievable. The Prime areas lay a strong foundation for how we learn. It is crucial that children are exposed to high quality learning within these foundations so that The Specific areas of learning can follow, these are:


• Literacy

• Maths

• Understanding the world

• Expressive arts and design.

Intent, Impact and Implementation Statement

Handwriting Phrases for Reception Letter formation